What are the carry-on luggage size limits on Australian airlines?
Carry-on luggage size limits on Australian airlines are set carrier by carrier, written as three dimensions plus a weight cap. Qantas, Jetstar, Virgin Australia and Rex each publish their own figures on their own baggage pages. This guide reproduces none of them: all four pages were unreachable during research on 28 September 2026, and a limit typed from memory is worth less than no limit at all.
What the research does settle is the buying problem underneath the rule. Amazon Australia’s cabin-suitcase search returned 829 results on 28 September 2026, and the great majority state one number in the title, “55cm”, “50cm” or “20 inch”, which is a height and nothing else.[1] Meanwhile the bag itself eats the weight cap: July specifies its Carry On at 3.0 to 3.4 kg empty depending on trim.[2] And the premium option is not the safe one. That same case holds 2.1 out of 5 from 92 Australian owners on ProductReview.com.au as at September 2026.[4]
Two things can be said about the carriers without quoting a figure. Low-cost operators weigh the whole cabin item with the empty case counted in, and every allowance is policed on three dimensions rather than the single number in a listing title. The centimetres and kilograms themselves have to come from qantas.com, jetstar.com, virginaustralia.com or rex.com.au in the week you fly.
The questions below run in the order a buyer asks them, starting with whether the wheels count towards the number on the listing and ending with which case to buy. In between: what the empty bag costs you in allowance, whether 55 cm is always safe, how 50 cm compares, whether an expansion zip is a liability, what breaks and how soon, and what a warranty is worth when it does.
One disclosure before any of it. This is editorial synthesis from published specifications, retailer listings and owner reviews. We have not run these products through a lab. The sources are manufacturer specifications, Amazon Australia listings checked on 28 September 2026, published hands-on measurements and Australian owner reviews on ProductReview.com.au, and every figure below carries the name of whoever published it.
Do carry-on size limits include the wheels and the handle?
Measure as though they do. Allowances are written as three dimensions of the bag as presented, and no Australian carrier’s baggage page could be reached on 28 September 2026 to confirm how each one treats wheels, feet and handle housing. So take the depth across the fattest part of the wheels and the height to the top of the handle housing, then check those numbers against the carrier’s own page before you fly.
The single-figure habit in Australian retail is near universal. Of the 829 cabin-suitcase results Amazon Australia returned on 28 September 2026, the great majority give one size in the title and nothing else.[1] The Samsonite Oc2Lite 55 cm and the American Tourister Airconic 55 cm both sell on a height, with depth over the wheels and width over the handle housing left for you to find out after delivery.[1]
The KROSER 20-inch is the rare exception, publishing 14.1 x 8.8 x 21 inches, about 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm, on its Amazon Australia listing.[1] That is a listing you can hold against a rule.
So measure it yourself, on arrival, before the bag’s first flight. Stand it up and run a tape from the floor to the top of the handle housing. Take the depth across the wheels and the width across the widest point of the shell. Three numbers, compared one by one against the carrier’s page, and added up as well, because some allowances are policed on a linear total too.
How much of your cabin allowance does the empty suitcase eat?
More than most buyers expect. July specifies the Carry On at 3.4 kg empty in Original trim and 3.0 kg in Essential trim.[2] That is 3.0 to 3.4 kg of whatever weight cap your carrier publishes, gone before a shirt goes in.
The 0.4 kg between the trims buys a 10,000 mAh power bank and a set of external metal bumpers.[2] On a weighed cabin item, that is 0.4 kg of clothes you no longer get to bring, paid for twice: once at purchase, once at the gate. The July Carry On is the best-documented case in this guide at 54.6 x 38.1 x 21.6 cm and 42 L, which is why it keeps appearing.[2] Weight is the first place it argues against itself.
The arithmetic every buyer should do and almost nobody does takes two minutes. Weigh the empty case on bathroom scales and write the figure inside the lid. Subtract it from whatever the carrier publishes on the day, and pack to the remainder rather than to the headline number.
If the remainder looks thin, the fix is a smaller, lighter cabin item rather than better folding. The Amazon Basics Underseat Carry On with Wheels 36 cm lists at 36 cm of height with three sizes in the range, so check you are ordering the 36 cm.[1] Cheaper again is a soft cabin backpack: the ECOHUB underseat model carries an RRP of $51.99 and was Amazon Australia’s Best Seller in Hand Luggage with more than 100 bought in the month to 28 September 2026.[1] Neither listing publishes an empty weight, so the bathroom scales still decide it.
See the Amazon Basics 36 cm underseat on Amazon
Is a 55 cm suitcase always accepted as carry-on?
No. Fifty-five centimetres is a height, and the refusals happen on the other two numbers.
The July Carry On measures 54.6 x 38.1 x 21.6 cm with 42 L of capacity, and a published compliance count run against the cabin allowances listed on 146 airline websites puts it inside the limit at 45 of them.[2] That is 31%. A hundred and one carriers list a limit the bag does not meet on paper, and the misses are attributed largely to the case’s extra inch of width.[2]
July’s own position is that the case totals 115 cm in linear dimensions and is approved to fit as carry-on for all international standards.[2] Both statements can hold at once, which is the part buyers miss. Some carriers cap the linear total below 115 cm and separately cap width, so a bag that passes on the sum still fails on a single side.[2]
Take a compliance percentage for what it is. It is calculated from manufacturer-supplied dimensions against allowances published on airline sites, which makes it a shortlist tool rather than a pass at the gate: a packed bag swells, and every carrier reads its own numbers its own way.
Should you buy a 50 cm or a 55 cm cabin case?
Buy the margin. A 50 cm-class case starts five centimetres under the usual ceiling, and those centimetres are the cheapest insurance you will ever buy against a sizer at a budget-carrier gate.
The American Tourister Applite 5 50 cm carries an RRP of $220 on its Amazon Australia listing, checked 28 September 2026.[1] The range runs to five sizes, so the 50 cm is the one to select rather than whichever variant is cheapest on the day. Step up to the 55 cm class at the same retailer and the RRPs run $260 for the American Tourister Airconic and $335 for the Samsonite Oc2Lite, which was flagged Best Seller in Suitcases with 50-plus bought in the past month.[1]
That is $115 of RRP between the Applite 5 50 cm and the Oc2Lite, and what the extra money buys is a bag closer to the line. Both the Applite 5 and the KROSER were listed under their RRP on Amazon Australia when we checked on 28 September 2026, and selling prices move weekly, so follow the link for the number of the day rather than one we typed.
The honest trade: a 50 cm case holds fewer litres, and if you only ever fly full-service carriers with roomy allowances, the 55 cm class is usable and often nicer to pack. The margin argument is about the gates with sizers and scales. If that is most of your flying, the smaller case wins on the only test that matters, which is boarding without a conversation.
The other way to buy certainty is to buy a listing that tells you the truth. The KROSER Hardside Expandable Carry On 20-inch publishes 14.1 x 8.8 x 21 inches, about 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm, with a built-in TSA lock.[1] Add the KROSER’s three published figures and you get 111.5 cm linear; add the July’s three measured figures and you get 114.3 cm. That is our arithmetic, not a published spec, and it puts the KROSER roughly 3 cm the right side of the premium case.[1][2]
Check the price of the Applite 5 50 cm on Amazon
Is an expandable carry-on a trap at the gate?
Yes, if you use the expansion. Unzipping it adds depth on the dimension measured over the wheels, and it is the quickest way to turn a compliant case into a non-compliant one.
The Amazon Basics Hardside Expandable Spinner Suitcase 55 cm is the budget baseline here: listed on Amazon Australia on 28 September 2026 in black, navy, orange and light blue at one price, sold on a 55 cm height with no depth or width published, and expandable.[1] The KROSER 20-inch expands too, and its published 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm describes the case with the zip shut.[1] The July Carry On has no expansion zipper and no exterior pocket at all.[2] A case that cannot grow cannot grow past the limit.
Buy either expandable one on the understanding that the zip stays shut on any leg where the bag will be sized or weighed. The expansion is storage for the trip home, not capacity you can board with.
View the Amazon Basics 55 cm spinner on Amazon
What actually breaks on a carry-on bag, and how soon?
Handles and wheels, often on the first few trips, and the premium bags are not exempt.
The July Carry On holds 2.1 out of 5 from 92 reviews on ProductReview.com.au as at September 2026, with 72% of those reviews negative and 22% positive.[4] Sub-scores run Build Quality 2.4, Value for Money 2.1, Ease of Use 2.6.[4] That is 66 of 92 Australian owners filing a negative review.
The failures that ruin a trip are mechanical. One owner reports the telescopic handle jamming fully extended on the first use of a brand-new case in Istanbul, and having to have it broken at check-in to fly.[4] Another reports the handle sticking halfway once the bag is packed full, and the detachable front laptop case popping off mid-airport.[4]
Wheels are the cross-brand problem. In ProductReview.com.au’s suitcases category, Antler Clifton Medium owners report castor wheels disintegrating in fewer than six flights on a bag averaging 1.8/5, with the wheels described as thin and bearing-free while the shell and zips were still sound.[5] Flylite Spin Air 3.0 owners report wheels deteriorating after about ten trips at a 2.9/5 average, and High Sierra AT7 wheels shedding their rubber tread down to bare metal at 3.9/5.[5]
A badge does not fix this. Samsonite Octolite sits at 1.8/5 with a zip broken after one use, Samsonite B-Lite at 2.8/5, Samsonite S’Cure Spinner at 3.1/5, Antler Juno 2 at 2.1/5 and Delsey Belmont at 2.0/5.[5] Cracked shells barely feature in any of it.
Is a lifetime warranty worth paying for?
Only when the brand ships you a part. The word “lifetime” costs a marketing department nothing; freight, labour and a trip back to the shop cost you real money, and that is where the warranties separate.
Start with repairability, because it decides whether a claim is even possible. A Flylite owner reports the wheels are riveted on, so replacing them means grinding off the axle.[5] A High Sierra AT7 owner was quoted $70 per wheel by the brand’s recommended Brisbane repairer and told to buy a new bag instead: $140 for the pair against a bag of around $220, which is 64% of replacement cost to fix two wheels.[5]
Then the friction. A Samsonite Octolite owner whose zip broke after one use was directed back to the place of purchase, having bought online.[5] A Samsonite S’Cure owner had to pay transport costs to get a warranty assessment done at all.[5]
The counter-example is real and belongs here. One July owner had a replacement wheel set couriered to the UK mid-trip after a wheel failed at around ten months of continuous travel, and another had a split zip approved for replacement within 24 hours after five years of use.[4] That is what a good warranty looks like in practice, and it is worth paying something for. It is not worth paying the premium the 55 cm hero bags ask, given what the same owner corpus says about the handles.
Before you buy, turn the case over and look at the wheel housing. Screws mean a wheel you can swap yourself. Rivets mean a repairer’s quote, and the only quote in this piece was $70 a wheel.
Where each bag lands against these questions
Filed by the question each one answers best rather than ranked. The empty cells are the evidence, not a gap in the research: five of these seven listings tell you a height and stop there.
| Bag | Listed height | Published three dimensions | Empty weight | Expands? | Australian owner record | RRP on the listing (28 Sep 2026) | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Tourister Applite 5 50 cm | 50 cm | Not published in listing[1] | Not published | Not stated in listing[1] | None for this model in our sources | $220[1] | Check price on Amazon |
| KROSER Hardside Carry On 20-inch | 20 in (53.3 cm) | 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm[1] | Not published | Yes[1] | None in our sources | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Underseat 36 cm | 36 cm | Not published in listing[1] | Not published | Not stated in listing[1] | None in our sources | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
| Amazon Basics Hardside Spinner 55 cm | 55 cm | Not published in listing[1] | Not published | Yes[1] | None in our sources | Not published | Check price on Amazon |
| American Tourister Airconic 55 cm | 55 cm | Not published in listing[1] | Not published | Not stated in listing[1] | Larger checked sibling 2.0/5[5] | $260[1] | Check price on Amazon |
| Samsonite Oc2Lite 55 cm | 55 cm | Not published in listing[1] | Not published | Not stated in listing[1] | Samsonite lines 1.8/5 to 3.1/5[5] | $335[1] | Check price on Amazon |
| July Carry On | Sold as “Carry On” | 54.6 x 38.1 x 21.6 cm, 42 L[2] | 3.4 kg Original, 3.0 kg Essential[2] | No[2] | 2.1/5 from 92 reviews[4] | Not verified | Check price on Amazon |
The price column is the manufacturer’s RRP as shown on each Amazon Australia listing on 28 September 2026. Selling prices move, sometimes weekly, so each link goes to Amazon’s current number rather than one we typed.
The one that lets you check before you buy
The KROSER Hardside Expandable Carry On 20-inch earns its place on disclosure: 14.1 x 8.8 x 21 inches published, about 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm, plus a built-in TSA lock, on Amazon Australia on 28 September 2026.[1] You can hold three numbers against a carrier’s page before the money leaves your account, which none of the height-only listings allow. The costs: no RRP published on the listing, no empty weight either, and it expands, so treat the expansion as storage-only.
See the KROSER 20-inch on Amazon
The margin buy
American Tourister Applite 5 50 cm, RRP $220 on its Amazon Australia listing, checked 28 September 2026.[1] Five centimetres of headroom on the height, and $115 less at RRP than the $335 Oc2Lite.[1] The listing does not publish depth, width or empty weight, so measure it and weigh it the day it lands. It also holds less than a 55 cm case, which is the price of the margin, and the range runs to five sizes, so confirm the 50 cm at checkout.
Check the Applite 5 50 cm price on Amazon
The lightest cabin item
Amazon Basics Underseat Carry On with Wheels 36 cm, 36 cm of listed height, three sizes in the range, checked on Amazon Australia on 28 September 2026.[1] It suits fares where the allowance is one small item. The listing publishes no depth, width or empty weight, so the bathroom scales decide it on arrival, and there is no Australian owner record for it in our sources, nothing like the 92 reviews behind the July Carry On’s 2.1/5.[4] Cheaper again is the ECOHUB underseat backpack at an RRP of $51.99, Amazon Australia’s Best Seller in Hand Luggage with 100-plus bought in the month to 28 September 2026, though the packed weight then rides on your shoulders from the kerb to the gate.[1]
See the 36 cm underseat at Amazon
The 55 cm best seller
The Samsonite Oc2Lite 55 cm is the category best seller at an RRP of $335, with 50-plus bought in the month to 28 September 2026 and a listing that gives you a height and nothing else.[1] The brand record behind it swings hard: Octolite 1.8/5, B-Lite 2.8/5, S’Cure Spinner 3.1/5 on ProductReview.com.au, with one Octolite owner’s zip broken after a single use and the repair pushed back to the place of purchase.[5] You are paying $115 more at RRP than the Applite 5 50 cm for five centimetres closer to the line.
See the Oc2Lite 55 cm on Amazon
The cheaper 55 cm alternative
The American Tourister Airconic 55 cm sits at an RRP of $260, with a warning attached to its larger checked sibling: 2.0/5 on ProductReview.com.au, a thin polypropylene shell that dented then cracked across three checked trips.[1][5] As cabin-only luggage that never sees a baggage belt, that exposure is far lower. The listing still publishes height only, and the range runs to three sizes, so confirm you have the 55 cm.
View the Airconic 55 cm on Amazon
The best-documented and most cautionary
The July Carry On reviews well with the people who have handled it, and holds 2.1/5 from 92 Australian owners.[2][4] Its Australian price could not be verified during this research, so no figure appears here.
So which carry-on should you actually buy?
Buy the American Tourister Applite 5 50 cm, RRP $220 on its Amazon Australia listing, checked 28 September 2026.[1] It starts under the ceiling instead of flirting with it, and it costs $115 less at RRP than the 55 cm best seller.
If you want to verify the fit before you spend, buy the KROSER Hardside Expandable Carry On 20-inch and its published 35.8 x 22.4 x 53.3 cm.[1] If your fare allows one small item, or you simply refuse to fight for overhead space, the Amazon Basics Underseat Carry On with Wheels 36 cm will carry a two-night trip.[1]
The premium 55 cm hero bag loses, and the July Carry On is the clearest example of why: inside the published allowance at 45 of 146 airlines, 3.0 to 3.4 kg of your weight limit spent empty, and 2.1/5 across 92 Australian owners with the handle as the headline complaint.[2][4] The badge buys you a warranty process, and sometimes a good one. It does not buy a handle that still extends in Istanbul.
Two habits are worth more than any of these bags. Weigh the empty case on bathroom scales and write the number inside the lid, then measure all three dimensions over the wheels and the handle housing rather than trusting the listing title. After that, confirm the figure on the Qantas, Jetstar, Virgin Australia or Rex baggage page the week you fly, because carry-on luggage size limits on Australian airlines change without notice, and the gate goes by their number, not ours.