Very little. Most Australian creatine powders and gummies are food, so the pack is limited to permitted nutrition and health claims plus the prescribed Standard 2.9.4 warning statement. Only a listed medicine with an AUST L number carries claims a regulator has actually checked.
Below, the questions that decide creatine label claims Australia allows, in the order a buyer standing in the aisle asks them: is this a food or a medicine, what must be printed on the pack, what may the pack say, is the dose inside real, what does it cost per gram of creatine, and which tub to put in the trolley.
One disclosure first. We have not lab-tested any of these products. This is an editorial synthesis of the Food Standards Code, TGA and FSANZ publications, retailer listings checked on 12 September 2026, published independent laboratory results, and what owners report.
Is creatine regulated as a food or a medicine in Australia?
Both, depending on form and claim. Creatine powders and gummies sold as food sit under the Food Standards Code, mostly Standard 2.9.4. Sports supplements making therapeutic claims in tablet, capsule or pill form were declared therapeutic goods by the TGA, the transition closing 30 November 2023.
Two regulators, two rulebooks. Food Standards Australia New Zealand (FSANZ) writes the Code that covers formulated supplementary sports foods. The Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) covers listed and registered medicines on the Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods.
The TGA’s declaration took effect from 30 November 2020 (TGA media release). Products carrying therapeutic claims, presented as tablets, capsules or pills, and free of higher-risk ingredients got three years to comply, change dosage form or leave the shelf, and that clock ran out on 30 November 2023. The border followed: from 30 November 2023, imported sports supplements in tablet, capsule or pill form assessed as in scope under the Imported Food Inspection Scheme are referred to the TGA rather than treated as food (Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, IFN 16-23).
Read that trigger again, because it is a dosage-form trigger. Powders and gummies making food-style claims stayed food. The $42.00 tub of gummies in your hand was never assessed by a medicines regulator, and nothing about its supermarket shelf position implies it was.
What warning statement must an Australian creatine pack carry?
If the product is sold as a formulated supplementary sports food, the label of the package must include this statement, word for word, under Standard 2.9.4 of the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code:
Not suitable for children under 15 years of age or pregnant women: Should only be used under medical or dietetic supervision
That sentence is the most checkable line on the pack, and it costs you four seconds to find. A creatine product presented as a sports food without it is either mislabelled or is not legally a sports food at all, and either answer tells you something before you read a single marketing word on the front.
The statement is the price of admission. Standard 2.9.4 lets these products carry substances not permitted in ordinary foods, along with higher levels of some vitamins (FSANZ), and the warning is what the Code demands in exchange. It exists for the two groups most likely to pick a tub up casually because it sits between the protein bars and the electrolytes: under-15s, and pregnant women.
Does a compliant-looking pack mean the product is compliant?
No, and there is Australian evidence for how often the look and the law come apart. Chapple and colleagues audited supermarkets, pharmacies, health food stores and gyms and captured 558 sports-food-like products (Frontiers in Nutrition, 2023). Of those, 283 were excluded because they did not display the prescribed name “Formulated Supplementary Sports Food” and/or the required warning and advisory statements, leaving 275 in the analysed set.
The cleaner 275 were not clean either. Only 184 of them, 66.9%, carried nutrition panel values within 5% of the calculated energy value.
So more than half the products the auditors pulled off Australian shelves lacked the packaging the Code prescribes, and a third of the survivors could not keep their own panel arithmetic straight. A tidy font, a scoop icon and a nutrition panel are design choices, not compliance.
What survives that finding is small and specific. Check the prescribed warning statement, then check the creatine figure per serve rather than per gummy, because the per-gummy number is the one designed to be multiplied in your head incorrectly.
Which creatine label claims Australia permits: memory, ageing or menopause?
Not those, and almost certainly not in the words the video used. A food-regulated creatine product is confined to the permitted nutrition and health claims in the Code. It cannot free-style into cognition, healthy ageing or menopause symptoms.
A listed medicine has a different ceiling and it is still a ceiling. An AUST L product may only use the indications on its ARTG entry, and it cannot be promoted as treating or curing serious disease (TGA guidance on listed medicines and permissible indications).
Which means the claim you are acting on came from a creator, not from the pack. Menopause-driven buyers are visibly in this aisle now: an r/Menopause thread from March 2025 has a user reporting a single 2.5 g gummy leaving her jittery, with longer-term creatine users in the same thread telling her to switch to plain micronised powder and skip the other ingredients.
Do creatine gummies actually contain the creatine on the label?
Often not, and no Australian regulator verifies creatine content per serve before the pack reaches a shelf.
SuppCo bought 11 products off the shelf and had them run through an ISO 17025-accredited laboratory in June 2025. Four of the six gummies failed identity and potency testing. Two had no detectable creatine, one of them failing across two separate lots despite the brand promoting its own testing. Two others held 0.50% and 0.09% of a 5 g dose, which works out at 800 and 2,000 gummies to reach a single serve.
Other programs landed in the same place. NOW’s HPLC testing across 12 popular gummy products, reported by WholeFoods Magazine, returned a 46% failure rate against label claim, with several of the under-strength products also carrying significant creatinine. Eurofins tested nine top-selling gummies in July 2025: four brands came close to claim, with results running down to 73% of the creatine stated, and five contained borderline undetectable amounts.
The chemistry explains the pattern. Creatine degrades to creatinine, and in the SuppCo work even the two gummies that passed, at 6.3 g against a 5 g label and 4.59 g against a 4.5 g label, showed significant creatinine. All five powders tested delivered a consistent 5 g serve at 98-101% purity, creatinine under 50 ppm, no heavy-metal concerns.
Be clear about provenance: most of that product was bought in the United States. The Australian thread is the Eurofins testing, commissioned locally and reported here in 2025. What a buyer can do about it is choose brands that publish batch results and carry HASTA certification, since nobody else is checking.
How do you work out dollars per gram of creatine in Australia?
Divide the pack price by the total grams of creatine in the pack. Total grams means creatine per serve multiplied by serves, using the per-serve figure on the label, never the per-gummy figure.
All prices below are AUD, from the named retailer’s own listing, checked 12 September 2026.
| Product | Retailer | Pack price | Creatine per serve | Serves | Cost per serve | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUP Creatine Gummies 90-pack | Woolworths | $42.00 (from $60.00) | 3000 mg per 3 gummies | 30 | $1.40 | See it at Woolworths |
| SUP Creatine Gummies Cola 35s | Chemist Warehouse | $13.49 (half price) | 3000 mg per 3 gummies | ~11 | ~$1.16 | Chemist Warehouse listing, not linked |
| Legion Creatine Gummies 120 | iHerb Australia | $39.99 | Not stated on the listing we checked | 30 | $1.33 | See it at iHerb AU |
| Flexies Creatine Gummies 120 | Flexies (brand site) | $39.95 | Not stated on the listing we checked | 30 (4 gummies per serve) | $1.33 | Brand site, not linked |
| Bulk Nutrients Creatine Monohydrate 250 g | Bulk Nutrients | $24.00 | 3 g | 83 | 29c (brand’s own figure) | See it at Bulk Nutrients |
| Bulk Nutrients Creatine Monohydrate 1 kg | Bulk Nutrients | $48.00 (Dec 2025 update) | 3 g | 333 | about 14c | See it at Bulk Nutrients |
| Faction Labs Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 1 kg | Chemist Warehouse | $59.95 | 1 serve into 150-250 ml water | 200 at 5 g | ~30c | See it at Chemist Warehouse |
Serve sizes are not standard across the table, which is exactly why the per-serve column can mislead. Bulk Nutrients’ own nutrition panel doses at 3 g per serve, 83 serves in the 250 g pouch and 333 in the kilo (bulknutrients.com.au, checked 12 September 2026), while the Faction Labs line above assumes the 5 g serve common to unflavoured monohydrate, so compare grams rather than serves.
Now per gram of creatine. The Woolworths gummy pack holds 90 g of creatine for $42.00, which is 47c a gram. Bulk Nutrients at $48.00 for 1 kg is 4.8c a gram, and the 250 g bag at $24.00 is 9.6c. Faction Labs at $59.95 a kilogram is 6c.
That is a five-fold gap at the narrowest and a ten-fold gap at the widest. Powder is not marginally cheaper than gummies, it is several times cheaper for the same molecule.
One more figure worth holding. The SUP serve is 3000 mg (Chemist Warehouse listing), which sits at the bottom of the 3-5 g range used in creatine research, so the per-serve comparison above flatters the gummy before the lab results are even considered.
What is FSANZ Proposal P1010 changing, and when do these rules date from?
Standard 2.9.4 is still under review. FSANZ is working through Proposal P1010, which covers the permitted substances in sports foods along with the marketing and labelling rules attached to them, and the food regulation ministers’ activity page on enhancing sport supplement safety was current at 17 March 2026 (Food Regulation Secretariat).
Both halves of that review sit under the two things this piece tells you to check. The substance list decides what a sports food may legally contain, and the labelling rules decide what the pack must print about it, including the prescribed name and the warning statement. We cannot tell you whether the wording you are checking on a 2026 pack survives the review unchanged, because the outcome is not published.
Practical consequence for a shopper in September 2026: the label in your hand was written against the pre-review rules, not whatever replaces them. Date every rule you act on, including these.
Where these packs actually land under the two rulebooks
Bulk Nutrients Creatine Monohydrate answers “can I verify the dose?” better than anything else named here. Australian-owned, HASTA certified, and the company states it publishes over 700 lab tests on its own site. It is a food, not a listed medicine, so the verification is voluntary, which is the point: the brand chose to publish where the Code does not require it.
Two honest downsides. The unflavoured powder no longer ships with a scoop, so you need a teaspoon or a set of kitchen scale to hit the 3 g serve the panel assumes (brand product page, checked 12 September 2026), and stomach tolerance is the recurring owner complaint with powders generally rather than any failure to work. On ProductReview.com.au a buyer with gastritis reports pain from some creatine brands and none from another, which is a switching problem, not a category problem.
See the current price at Bulk Nutrients
SUP Creatine Gummies answer “what does the compliant-looking supermarket product give me?” At 3000 mg per 3-gummy serve, $42.00 for 90 at Woolworths and 47c a gram, it is the most expensive creatine in this piece per gram and the format that failed hardest in every 2025 laboratory program. This is the loser. Buy it for the taste and the convenience with your eyes open, not because the packaging looks regulated.
Faction Labs Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 1 kg answers “what if I will not order online?” It is the pharmacy-aisle powder at $59.95 at Chemist Warehouse, $11.95 more per kilogram than Bulk Nutrients, with mixing directions on the listing for one serve into 150-250 ml of water or non-acidic juice.
Legion Creatine Gummies at $39.99 for 120 through iHerb Australia, and Flexies at $39.95 for a 30-day supply, both land near $1.33 a serve. That is four to five times the per-serve cost of local powder for a format with a documented stability problem.
Cyborg Sport Micronised Creatine Monohydrate 1 kg is the locally listed Amazon AU option (ASIN B0CKWPXM2S, 4.7 from 291 ratings). We could not confirm its listing price at filing, so check the current price on Amazon rather than trusting a number typed here.
So which creatine should you buy in 2026?
Plain creatine monohydrate powder, from a brand that publishes batch testing. Bulk Nutrients is 29c for a 3 g serve at $24.00 for 250 g, checked 12 September 2026, against $42.00 for 30 gummy serves at Woolworths, and every powder in 2025 lab testing hit its label dose.
Default to Bulk Nutrients. If you would rather buy in a pharmacy, Faction Labs 1 kg costs 6c a gram at Chemist Warehouse. If Amazon is where you shop, Cyborg Sport is the locally listed 1 kg powder, price unconfirmed at filing. The compliant-looking gummy is the riskiest buy in the category precisely because it looks settled: nothing in Australian law verifies the dose inside it, and SUP charges roughly five times per gram for the privilege.
Four things to read on any pack before it reaches the trolley:
- the prescribed Standard 2.9.4 warning statement, in full
- creatine per serve, not per gummy
- published batch testing or HASTA certification
- an AUST L number, if regulator-checked claims matter to you
On that third line, be precise about what it buys you. HASTA certification and published batch results are programs a brand pays for voluntarily, so they are evidence that batches go to an outside laboratory, not a regulator signing off the creatine figure. That signature does not exist in this category.
Creatine label claims Australia permits are dated goods. Every rule and price here was checked on 12 September 2026, with Standard 2.9.4 still under review through Proposal P1010, so re-read the pack rather than this page the next time you restock.